In today’s competitive digital landscape, it has become crucial for businesses to maintain a clean list of contacts. No matter how good your email campaigns are, it is inevitable that there will be some users who will remain unengaged. To ensure good email list hygiene, you need to keep a constant check on such unengaged users and remove them from your lists. To make this process easier, we are launching a new enhancement to our Marketing Engine that will make it easier to unsubscribe such users in bulk or even purge them altogether from the system. Here’s how it works:
Unsubscribe users in bulk
Navigate to your settings page from the top right hand corner of the dashboard, select Data tools and click on Email Unsubscriber.
Drag and drop or upload the CSV file with the email IDs of the users who need to be unsubscribed. You can also download a sample CSV file to use as a template for your file.
On the right hand side you can see a live update of the progress of unsubscription under the activity feed. Once the unsubscription process is complete, it will show you the result (number of successful/failed unsubscriptions) along with other details like the date and time of unsubscription and the user who initiated the unsubscription process. An email notification will also be sent to you upon completion of bulk unsubscriptions. Note that you can download the report of unsubscription by clicking on the Download option next to individual activity notifications.
Note: The Bulk Unsubscription option is supported only for emails as of now. We will extend it to other contact types like phone numbers in a subsequent update.
Purging users in bulk
Purging users in bulk can be handy when you want to stay within your billing limit of users, or when you just want to keep your dashboard clean and tidy. The process is similar to Bulk unsubscription, with a slightly different file format. Since purging is an irreversible process, we have included an extra validation step to ensure that you do not accidentally delete users. You will be asked to type in your account name before the Purge button gets enabled.
Just as it works for unsubscribing users, on the right hand side you can see a live update of the progress of purging under the activity feed Recent Purges. Once the purge process is complete, it will show you the result (number of successful/failed purges) along with other details like the date and time of purging and the user who initiated the purge process. An email notification will also be sent to you upon completion of bulk deletion. You can download the details of purging by clicking on the Download option next to individual activity notifications.
Unsubscription happens at contact level. Since BME is a multi-channel system, a user can have multiple contacts. That’s why, Bulk Unsubscription is based on the User Property email whereas purging of multiple users is based on the User Property User ID.
Unsubscribe versus Purge
Here are the differences between the two options:
- Once an email contact is unsubscribed, the user will not receive email irrespective of being in any list or segment.
- Their subscriber activity for campaign reports is still preserved.
- Purged users will not be counted for total user billing purposes for subsequent billing cycles.
- They will no longer receive any emails sent to any list/segment they were a part of inside BME.
We would love to hear your feedback on this update. Drop us a note at [email protected]